• Share. Be Supported. Recover.

We are a friendly, safe community supporting each other's mental health. We are open 24 hours a day, 365 days a year.

Would you personally work with a MH professional if you know they have lived experiences of schizophrenia/psychotic disorders?

E

emmaleemochizuki

I'm just interested. I'm currently studying and pursuing a career in MH.

I question myself all the time if I'll ever be mentally fit enough to handle that kind of job.

I'm ok when I am stable, but I'm also aware of potential criticism and judgement if people know my background.

I do think though it helps me to understand others on a deeper level as I have been there myself. So I am not just learning things from books, but also real life personal experiences.

Northern Girl

Northern Girl

I would be happy to have a Psychiatrist with lived experience. They may be better at understanding my struggles rather than one who has no lived experience and only knows what is in a text book or what they have observed/heard from their patients.

E

emmaleemochizuki

I would be happy to have a Psychiatrist with lived experience. They may be better at understanding my struggles rather than one who has no lived experience and only knows what is in a text book or what they have observed/heard from their patients.
That's very true. There's only a surface level of insight by observing whereas we have a much deeper level of insight by living with it. I think it is also understanding some of the things we experience that may not seem totally logical to others but it is to us. I think with all MH professionals, especially psychiatrists we need some sort of a middle ground with them. They don't seem to get that though, they are satisfied as long as you are medicated...

Avolitionist

Avolitionist

This is a strange question. It would never be asked of any other type of care. “Would you see a physician if you knew he saw a physician for his own care?” Seems bizarre.