• Share. Be Supported. Recover.

We are a friendly, safe community supporting each other's mental health. We are open 24 hours a day, 365 days a year.

Worry-Anxiety-Trapped

P

Platon

Hello all,
I'm not sure if this is the right forum to post, but perhaps someone can help. I am a single mature student who lives with their elderly father. He has multiple medical conditions including diabetes and had his third heart attack three days ago. I have some medical problems myself. This has included severe anxiety and I am paying for sessions with a psychologist and desperately want to resolve the issue. The trouble is all health providers take it for granted that I am on hand to see to everything, to take my father to appointments, to deal with situations as they arise (this is very disturbing for me -and I have already spent twenty years looking after my mother). The physical and emotional impact on me is usually disregarded. My father's consent is required for any outside help and no social services assessment are being conducted during the pandemic in any case. Any suggestions?

Foxjo

Foxjo

I'm sorry to hear that you are trapped. Covid-19 is making peoples lives much harder.
Your anxiety too is expected with all that you are coping with.
Can you not get some additional help from the doctors regarding dad? They may just take it for granted that you will look after him. They may not know you are struggling so much.

Sash1

Sash1

Have you tried your local carer centre..they are there for you as much as the person you are caring for..

They were fantastic support for me when I was caring for an elderly family member..
They have loads of online support, and can point in the right direction for financial help also..
You may even quality for Carers Allowance..
Worth taking a look..
Also, speak to your GP for yourself, you have to think of your health too....:hug:

Similar threads
Thread starter Title Forum Replies Date