• Welcome! It’s great to see you. Our forum members are people, maybe like yourself, who experience mental health difficulties or who have had them at some point in their life.

If you'd like to talk with people who know what it's like

Work - should I stick it out?

S

Sammisal

Well, I returned to work after four weeks off last week. I went back on Wednesday, but have now been off again for three days. I really don't think I can go back. It just seems such a final decision. How do people decide?

T

Twylight

I was an electrical engineer and had to go on a major tranquiliser

It wasn't that I couldn't do the work technicaly - it was puntuality - I still sleep odd hours in the day

blackdog

blackdog

Founding Member
I've worked in healthcare for over 24 years. I was off with depression earlier this year and returned to work in May. I've been off sick now for nearly six weeks and am ??? planning to return to work a week next Monday. I'm not much better healthwise than I was a few weeks ago, but I've already been threatened with losing my job. I feel under so much pressure to get back, we need the money and I have no idea what else I could do. Without my job I think I may lose what little self-respect I have. But I don't know if I will be able to go back and keep going back, in which case I probably won't have a decision to make.

silly madam

silly madam

Hi both,

Would either of you guys have the opportunity to go back part time for a bit? I know thats what a few of my friends have done who suffer from depression. It helps them ease themselves back into work without it being full on.

My thoughts go out to you both :hug:

S

Sammisal