• Welcome! It’s great to see you. Our forum members are people, maybe like yourself, who experience mental health difficulties or who have had them at some point in their life.

If you'd like to talk with people who know what it's like

Work Reference

Jo1760

Jo1760

Hi,

I was hoping someone maybe able to give me some advice regarding a reference for work.

I have been in the same job for the past 9 years. I work in the field of childcare and in order to get another post I need to provide references. With my previous employer being one of them.

My problem is I am about to go off sick and i know its not going to be a matter of weeks, its more likely to be months. My employer hasn't been all that supportive in terms of understanding what is going on with me and I do get the feeling that if i take more than a month or two I am going to find going back to work very difficult. i know I will be under pressure to come back early and I am concerned it maybe too soon. I am also very aware that because of the way I have been feeling I haven't done the best job I could at work.

So my question is, if I do not end up returning to work for this employer after my time off, where do I stand legally in terms of a reference. I am very aware I will find it difficult to gain future employment if I dont have one. My employer will also not give me one in advance.

Sorry the post is long. Thank you in advance.

X

DiagnosisBipolar2

DiagnosisBipolar2

Recent case law indicates that there can be a legal obligation on a current or recent employer to provide a reference, as refusal to do so may damage the individual’s opportunity of gaining employment. A claim for direct discrimination or victimisation may arise where the employer refuses to supply a reference.