Work and other related dismal affairs

B

bluemango

Hi, I'm new to these forums so I would just like to introduce myself.

I have had mild to severe anxiety ever since I can remember. It has caused me some health problems with my stomach and my thyroid and I want this to end.

I don't really know why I'm posting here. I don't expect easy solutions. I'm just reaching out to say hi I guess.

So I studied music. I have a Bachelors with a very high score and a Master with an ok score. I could have done better but my anxiety and my procrastination led me to not perform as well. I led myself perform not as well as I should if I'm being honest.

After my studies I found a job in an unrelated field even though I was good at what I was doing. I jumped on the opportunity with eagerness and willingness to learn. Looking back, I know I took the easy way out. I wanted, still want, to become a lecturer at a university. But I was so disappointed with my performance at my Masters that I gave up. Like I always do when things get tough.

3 years into my current job, I am so stricken with anxiety that I can't really do anything right. I keep thinking that if I injured myself on purpose then I might get some time off work and not have to deal with the stress and the demand for performance this job requires. It is a tough job and very stressful. Everyone here working middle management like me is pretty much loaded with deadlines, event planning, sales performance and a myriad of other things. Most cope quite well with the stress. I have had enough. My stress to meet all these deadlines causes me to not function, making me miss deadlines which make me suffer from severe panic attacks. Everyday I wake up with a sense of dread, as if I am going to the end of my trial where I will be judged and sentenced to a lengthy prison term.