Words of encouragement

J

Jonboy 2015

Hi, I'm new to depression forums, so forgive me for rambling on.

I have recently been diagnosed with severe clinical depression, this is the 3rd time now in 9 years, although I have been up and down a little all my life.

Each time has been due to circumstances, as opposed to always feeling depressed, but each time I get it so bad that I have all the symptoms, hopelessness, constantly worrying about things, but also the dark thoughts that suicide would be the best option, even though I know deep down that that isn't the answer.

I have been off work for 6 weeks now, and can't see how I'm ever going to get back to normal. I am under both my GP and the crisis team, getting meds and will be starting counselling/ CBT as a way to help me in the future.

I know having read through many of the threads that my issues may seem mild, but to me each time it comes back I feel as though it will never go, even though by and large it has after several months of meds.

I lost my home as my landlord sold up, and cannot afford to get somewhere else as I have debts which I built up living there, so, I am staying with my mum for the foreseeable future.

She is unwell with heart issues and bad diabetes, so on top of feeling like death most of the time, I have to do the house work ( when I moved in it was in a real state but now it's a lot better).

I also have a good relationship with my dad and his partner, but my mum and dad had a very bad divorce and still to this day only talk badly of eachother, and on top of that she doesn't think I speak to him anymore, when I lived alone, it wasn't an issue as she didn't know where I was or what I was doing, but now I have to lie to her when I see him, and lie to him that she know as both he and his partner are falsley under the impression that she is aware if that makes sense??