• Share. Be Supported. Recover.

We are a friendly, safe community supporting each other's mental health. We are open 24 hours a day, 365 days a year.

Why is Paranoid personality disorder so rare?

C

Chumfo34

Why is Paranoid personality disorder so rare? Mostly male? Does everyone else get asked why would they be out to get you, what’s so special about you?What do we all have in common I wonder? I’m a musician, I love nature, animals, photography, and all things good really. I wouldn’t hurt something unless I had too or by accident. I’ve made some mistakes in my day but nothing too horrible.

Tawny

Tawny

Forum Guide
Do you have PPD? I don't know why it is rare but rarity could mean not many psychiatrists diagnose it rather than not many people have it.

C

Chumfo34

Why is Paranoid personality disorder so rare? Mostly male? Does everyone else get asked why would they be out to get you, what’s so special about you?What do we all have in common I wonder? I’m a musician, I love nature, animals, photography, and all things good really. I wouldn’t hurt something unless I had too or by accident. I’ve made some mistakes in my day but nothing too horrible.
Also I’ve been living with this “condition “ for ten years and I’m sick of living in silence so that’s why I’m talking about it. It’s not easy trust me. It’s taken a lot of suffering to do so. We are strong alone but it’s important we connect as some of these disorders make us hermit and then we don’t heal. Me anyways. Knowing we aren’t alone can be helpful although I realize my trust in humans has been basically fully broken and trusting again is hard. I trust my family but that doesn’t mean they can help me. I write this with sweaty palms.

LoqLamp

LoqLamp

It’s really just a catch all term for paranoid people who aren’t schizophrenic. It’s basically pointless to diagnose. Being written in a book doesn’t mean it has any real world use.

GretaVon

GretaVon

Former member