• Welcome! It’s great to see you. Our forum members are people, maybe like yourself, who experience mental health difficulties or who have had them at some point in their life.

If you'd like to talk with people who know what it's like

Who is right?

kathrina

kathrina

Hello I'm new to this kind of thing so if my words come out all wrong, I aplogise. I have come on this forum to find out whether friends are making a fuss over nothing. I weighed 10 stone 10 pounds two months ago and have lost 2 stone since then. I do eat, around 500 calories a day, but my friends tell me it's not enough. They also say that I have an eating disorder. I'm not so sure. Can someone help to dispel this disagreement? I mean I do eat and I know that some don't.
Thank you for your time.

Kathrina:confused:

S

*Sapphire*

Hi Kathrina

And :welcome: to the forum.

Can I ask why you suddenly decided to start restricting your diet to just 500 calories a day?

Who do you know that doesn't eat calories?

Take care
Sapphire :hug:

kathrina

kathrina

Sapphire,

I have gone up in calories and have told my friends this but still they insist I have an eating disorder. They say that I am in denial and try to rationalise it. They now say that if I do not recognise that I have an eating disorder, that our friendship will be affected. Hence why I came on here to find out who was right.

I didn't have an appetite to begin with and then found I only needed 500 calories.

Thank you for your time.

Kathrina

still :confused:

S

*Sapphire*

Hi Kathrina

Can I ask what height you are?

An eating disorder can be very deceptive, even to the person suffering with it. You haven't really answered why you suddenly decided to only restrict to 500 Kcals a day.

Was there anything that suddenly made you conscious of how many calories you are eating? I am only asking because most healthy people are not aware of how many Kcals they are eating?