• Welcome! It’s great to see you. Our forum members are people, maybe like yourself, who experience mental health difficulties or who have had them at some point in their life.

If you'd like to talk with people who know what it's like

Where do I begin?

Catharsis

Catharsis

I've been cutting myself off from certain friends for several months because I feel continuing these friendships may be doing me more harm than good.

These friends include:
-My best friend
-Someone I have known since school
-A friend I met through the above friend
-A couple of friends who come as a set [siblings]

These are pretty much my only friends outside of a couple of mates I live with and even though the friends I mentioned have taken advantage of me [and fair enough, I guess I've kind of let them], I still partly miss them. I guess this is my downfall though, since I am a sentimental fool who attaches signifinant value and importance to what others may disregard.

More detail is called for...

Best friend - I've known him for over 18 years. I could list all his faults which are many but that would be too tedious a read. The jist of it is that over the years we've had no shortage of arguments and periods where we haven't spoken. The last time we didn't speak ended in him stealing from me, which I would have never done to him. We are now speaking again but him stealing from me was not the first time he had betrayed my trust in a big way. I'm wondering if I am being foolish by continuing this friendship as I just don't feel I can trust him anymore. He stole from me, that's crossing a line. He gave back what he took once we were back in touch but there are so many times I've held back when he'd sent me malicious emails or texts during our arguments. Plus if he knew I was on medication [just recently trying meds for the first time], he'd likely be a condescending dick about it instead of supportive. He doesn't get that there's a scientific element to it.