• Welcome! It’s great to see you. Our forum members are people, maybe like yourself, who experience mental health difficulties or who have had them at some point in their life.

If you'd like to talk with people who know what it's like

Whatever this is is what I have

G

glitterbug

I've never done anything remotely like this before, so apologies in advance - it may end up long, dull and rambling.

Last night, I was headed to a meeting, and in that moment, I was sad. It was a clean sadness, like you feel at the end of a sad film. The emotion is pure, all encompassing, and baseless. There is nothing to fix, no link between this feeling and my life. It’s a blue-white feeling that takes me back to being a child, to Pogs and The Spice Girls, and the all consuming tragedy of not being a child anymore. It was sitting in the car, drowning in the thickness of it, on my way to a meeting I’d organised when I was someone else.

Because there are other moments when the world is blurred and colourful and I have so much energy it frightens me. In those moments I can taste every breath I’m taking, I can’t make my thoughts move slowly enough to listen. I find myself surprised by what I’m saying or doing, because I missed the part where I made the decision. Those are the days when things are orange, and my mouth tastes of blood or vomit, and the thought of having to sleep fills me with dread. That was how I felt when I arranged that meeting, but it faded, and then the world went blue.