What to do in a crisis

calypso

calypso

Admin
Hey fluffymum, that was really interesting and although I knew it already, I was interested particularly with the A&E bit. I recently self harmed a lot, and was stitched up, but nothing was offered in the way of help other than that. I got the impression that I was at the bottom of the queue and they couldn't wait to get rid of me. One nurse said, after the stitches were done, Oh keep it clean for 2 days then put any old plaster on it. I am a trained nurse and I can tell you that is really bad advice. It felt like I was a nuisance and not to be treated the same as others.

I have heard others inA&E who are distressed (curtains are treated as sound proof barriers!) and there is not much help given. I have never heard of a pdoc attending although I guess they must at times. I wonder how much this is translated into actual reality. xx

Fluffymum

Fluffymum

I've been to minor injuries twice, the first time the nurse was lovely and said to come back anytime but that she hopefully wouldn't need to see me, the 2nd time with the same nurse was so unbelievably different I thought she had a twin; she was off with me, only spoke to my husband and treated me like some silly child, she was judging and then I found out she'd told my health visitor which I wouldnt have minded at all as I have nothing to hide with my health or my daughter but she legally is supposed to tell me that she is going to send information to the HV.