• Share. Be Supported. Recover.

We are a friendly, safe community supporting each other's mental health. We are open 24 hours a day, 365 days a year.

What is your bigger struggle, depression or anxiety?

• Thread starter Alexander Ypsilantis
  • Start date
A

Alexander Ypsilantis

The two sides of the same coin, anxiety and depression. For me it's mainly the anxiety, at least lately. I can deal with depression, I have medication that addresses that. And it's been awhile since I allowed my depression to get out of control, 3-4 years.

But anxiety? What can you do about that? Sure, you can pop a Xanax, but that has it's own risks. You're limited to how much you can take of benzodiazepine medication. I drink alcoholic beverages to take the'edge' off, but the relief I get from them is short lived and you can't abuse it.

Really, anxiety for me is much more difficult to address. Part of that is my intellectual makeup. I am an engineer by profession, problem solving and thinking things through to their final outcome is what I do for a living. Turning it off after work is the problem, I carry it over into my everyday life. Catastrophizing has become an integral part of my personality.

I wish I lived with someone, that would help I think. Having someone to talk to, share your concerns with, would be great. I live alone and work long hours out of the home due to the Pandemic. The feeling of isolation and being alone isn't helping the anxiety. Anyone in the same boat?

C

celticlass