• Welcome! It’s great to see you. Our forum members are people, maybe like yourself, who experience mental health difficulties or who have had them at some point in their life.

If you'd like to talk with people who know what it's like

what is wrong with her??

B

because i care

Hi, I'm new to this, and not quite sure how it all works!
I have joined this forum to try and get advice about my brothers girlfriend who has alot of problems.
2 years ago she had her 4th child and had suicidal thoughts and mood swings. She was diagnosed with postnatal depression. She had careworkers come round every evening who gave her a pill to help her sleep and relax, but they didn't really help her on an emotional level. One morning in the early hours, while my brother and their 4 children were sleeping, she left the house and tried to committ suicide in a park. This was no cry for help, she took alot of tablets, cut her wrists and hid in a bush. She was only found by chance by a stranger and the doctors said she wouldn't have made it if not for them. She was sectioned as soon as she was able to leave hospital and spent 2 months in the psychiatric hospital. During this time she tried to committ suicide again 3 times. When she was finally released she was completely different. We all tried to help in every way we could, but it's as though her normal self had died. She admitted she felt she had lost the bond with her kids and she was just odd.