• Welcome! It’s great to see you. Our forum members are people, maybe like yourself, who experience mental health difficulties or who have had them at some point in their life.

If you'd like to talk with people who know what it's like

What if I am not ready to try recovering?

S

Spectral S

The last month I try to start recovery on my own. My parents don't know I self harm so they can't help me with this.
Of course, self-harm is addictive and like all addictions, it is hard to stay out of it. Deep down I know that what I am doing is bad and I have to stop, but I don't want to. I try to convince myself that I need it, sometimes I am studying and all that I am thinking about is how I want to self-harm. It is like a vicious circle, I self-harm because I am feeling down or stressed, I am stressed cause I need to study, I try to study but I just want to self-harm.

Maybe I am not ready, I think that the only way to cope with this amount of stress is by self-harming and eventually that stress is going to disappear once I do things right. If I stop self-harming like I am trying to do I become deeply depressed and unfocused. I have being feeling so down that the thoughts of self-harming haunt me even during school.

Should I continue trying even if it makes me feel worse? Should I wait a little more to try recovering?

Last edited by a moderator:
Zackthemaniac

Zackthemaniac

The thing about sh is its your coping skill. So when your stressed or depressed youve conditioned yourself to sh to deal with it. So if you just stop you now have this huge hole and you dont know how to deal with things.

The only way you're going to be able to get over doing sh is to replace with something else to cope with those emotions. I know alot of people wear rubberbands around their wrists and give themself a hit with it on wrist and their is a million things you can search for coping skills on the internet.