What has helped you?

DiddyKong

DiddyKong

I am still new to being open about my issues with depression and anxiety, leaving me curious as to how other people are able to manage theirs...

What has helped you in the past, whether it be meditation or just talking to people about mental health? Is drawing therapeutic to you or does getting out of the house and going for a run help stimulate you in order to feel better?

Please share your thoughts and ideas, I'd love to hear how you create a better place for yourself...

Thank you.

M

Mark101

Hi DK.

I've always relied on exercise but I know its not for everyone. I used to go to the gym but can no longer afford it. It was awesome to have a routine, it helped me sleep as i was naturally tired, I got 'my space' despite being around others and it really did help. I also used to mountain bike quite a lot; no time recently though. Good fitness, like the gym - losing weight gives me confidence - and great to get out into the wilds, on my own. These days I walk the dog a great deal. He's good company,doesn't judge me like other adults do, and gives me a reason to head to the beach, the farm lands or the mountain. Fresh air and the natural world is my savior. I've learned to appreciate bird song, the path of a stream and the patterns of the clouds.

C

ChesireCat

I do a lot of outdoor exercise. I'm probably more active in winter because I enjoy the cold.

M

Mark101

Hi ChesireCat, I don't mind the cold either. I ride a motorbike every day on the commute. But, Springtime is my favorite season. Everything begins to awaken. The trees begin to bud, the birds begin to nest and all around the natural world comes out of hibernation. There's a parallel I feel to the peaks and troughs of my mental illness.

C

ChesireCat

Spring is the worst for me, lol...but I've been telling myself lately that I need to appreciate it all.

M

Mark101