• Welcome! It’s great to see you.

If you'd like to talk with people who know what it's like

Our forum members are people, maybe like yourself, who experience mental health difficulties or who have had them at some point in their life.

What’s the problem with psychiatrists?

M

Marie

I would like to get the general consensus as to why people feel that psychiatrists/clinical psychologists/med professionals do not help?
Is it there attitude, working practices or ignorance etc?
I have a mild form of bipolar and I’m studying for a degree to hopefully become a clinical psychologist.

I want to know what’s going wrong Or right?

Thanks

schiz01

schiz01

Psychiatrists look at you as they would a chemical cocktail

A psychologist looks at you as a whole person

Psychology is the way to go in my opinion

good luck.....research research......I only speak from personal experience

R

rasselas

I would like to get the general consensus as to why people feel that psychiatrists/clinical psychologists/med professionals do not help?
Is it there attitude, working practices or ignorance etc?
I have a mild form of bipolar and I’m studying for a degree to hopefully become a clinical psychologist.

I want to know what’s going wrong Or right?

Thanks
After many, many, many years of being reduced, as schiz01 says, to a 'chemical cocktail' I was finally earmarked for psychological counselling and I must say, even after a few months, it's been a very positive experience. The MHT would probably have enabled this a long time ago, but their resources never extended to be able to provide the kind of help I needed.

This isn't the first psychologist I've seen. It's the first time I have clicked. That's one of the reasons that psychological interventions are more tricky than psychiatric ones. With psychiatry, engagement is relatively very rapid: determine symptomolgy based on DSM, and prescribe appropriate pill. Monitor situation, adjusting drugs as necessary.