Welcome

nickh

nickh

Founding Member
A very warm welcome to the Local Forum for Birmingham.

I will say a little bit about myself : I am 51, live in Stockland Green (Erdington) and have been a depressive for well over 20 years.

My hope for this Forum is that it can be a place for everyone from Birmingham to meet and share our experiences of what is happening on the 'Mental Health Scene' in our fair city. I am fairly new to campaigning and getting involved in activism, so would be delighted to listen to those with more experience and knowledge than me. I hope that those who wish to become more inolved will consider becoming co-moderators.

I do want to stress that I am NOT employed by anyone ; the only position I hold, very informally and quite unpaid!, is a co-chair of the BSMHLDLTNO (see abbreviations!) - I am a member of some of the other groups by virtue of the fact that I attend them :) - but I don't speak FOR them in any sense at all.

I have decided at the outset to start a number of separate threads relating to the various groups of which I am aware, even though these groups interact to some extent. And one thing I can say for certain is that we do have a lot of activity in Birmingham! I will try and explain as best I can what each group is and what it does - but please don't take my word as gospel as I am still new, and it has taken me 9 months to start to get my head round it. In fact I wish I had had this forum 9 months ago! So I will be sort of writing to my ignorant self :D.

Once again welcome to the Birmingham Forum. I hope that it is useful, informative, occasionally entertaining, and that maybe we can do some good as well.

Nick.

Last edited:
B

baba yaga

Founding Member
hello to nickh and the forum

Hello all

I am female, living in Birmingham, have used mental health services off and on for years, also currently working for a mental health organisation. I have wanted to be in contact with an online forum for a while now.