• Welcome! It’s great to see you.

If you'd like to talk with people who know what it's like

Our forum members are people, maybe like yourself, who experience mental health difficulties or who have had them at some point in their life.

Voices in music.

M

Mind

Hello.

I have to weigh up a really difficult situation involving hearing voices, can anyone help? I'll try and describe the problem in it's simplest form at first. I am a musician and have dedicated the best part of 15 years to writing and engineering music, but for the past 10 years or so I've found that I am constantly hearing abusive voices in the music I write and listen to.

Though I hear these voices in all forms of music they're most prominent in the type of music I write (if you can call it music) which is Drum and Bass. Drum and Bass is mostly instrumental music and it's production is based heavily around experimental sound design, this places more of an emphasis on sound engineering than traditional music writing (ie notes). Currently most of the basslines and melodies in "Drum and Bass" are designed using synthesizers that are made specifically for the purpose of creating sounds that are very vocal like, the resulting sounds are likely to contain many formant and Phonetic like qualities. (understanding this last sentence is key to understanding a big part of my problem) so if you have any questions please ask and I'll try and answer as best I can, but for now I'll just give you an example of formants and phonetics in music.

[YOUTUBE]<object width="425" height="344"><param name="movie" value="http://www.youtube.com/v/u9e9UtvunhE&hl=en&fs=1&"></param><param name="allowFullScreen" value="true"></param><param name="allowscriptaccess" value="always"></param><embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/u9e9UtvunhE&hl=en&fs=1&" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowscriptaccess="always" allowfullscreen="true" width="425" height="344"></embed></object>[/YOUTUBE]