• Welcome! It’s great to see you.

If you'd like to talk with people who know what it's like

Our forum members are people, maybe like yourself, who experience mental health difficulties or who have had them at some point in their life.

trying to leave my PTSD in the mountains

Unhinged

Unhinged

(i apologize now for this random rant of a thread)
hi again, i haven't posted here in some time. i got diagnosed with PTSD a few months back and have been in a nightmare rollercoaster of meds and doc mistakes. couple trips to the ER and they haven't been letting me work. (i'm a firefighter and an emt on the ambulance.)
not sure if this is the best treatment option but i've decided to move, i resigned from work today. where i live is really rural so there aren't many healthcare options available. and when the doc talked about sending me to the hospital i talked with my mom and some friends and they're moving me to another state, and to a city. i'll be with great friends (don't have many left here) and have access to more healthcare.
i'm just posting this i guess because i'm scared about moving and trying to start all over again. i decided to take a break from emergency work for awhile and hope i can find some work with animals. i'm just scared so i needed to tell someone, anyone. my fire dept is being really great and doing what they can to help me move, but my ems job pretty much just waved goodbye :(
i cried so hard when i handed in my gear, i'm really going to miss the job but i know i can't get well here.