• Share. Be Supported. Recover.

We are a friendly, safe community supporting each other's mental health. We are open 24 hours a day, 365 days a year.

Trying to help a friend

Durandal

Durandal

Greetings,

I have a close friend who has struggled with mental illness all his life. I am here in the hopes of learning how to help him better. I have little personal experience of it myself, so have been trying to read up, the better to understand his illness, things that happen when we interact, and especially things I might be misunderstanding that lead me to behave in ways that may be hurtful rather than helpful. A friend from another forum recommended this site. It will take me some time to find my way around and figure out the best places to post and ask for advice. If I can share along the way, I am happy to do that, too.

UpnDwn1978

UpnDwn1978

Forum Guide
Hi Durandal welcome to the forum :welcome:

This is a very friendly and supportive forum so I'm confident you can get some good advice here.

L

lylies

did he ask you for help?

real friends are important, I didn't want to pretend to be normal and happy before them. so when I shared all my ugly stuff, I didn't want help. they couldn't. I just wanted to be accepted with all my mistakes and problems instead of scaring the sh*t out of them. some ran away and some stayed...

the only thing I can say is the best way to help is listen to him, don't judge him, don't give him unwanted advice, don't repeat what you got from books, movies or others (I'm sure he has already heard all by now). don't say you understand if you don't (it's like downplaying what he feels)

just listen and accept him 'cause people with mental illness got a lot of stigma, shame and mocking.

Jolly

Jolly

I agree just listen and support. Just a thought you could both do mindfulness together to help to relax. I found that helps. I wish you both peace

fragrant_violet

fragrant_violet