Trapped in this life......

S

so sad

This is a long post so apologies….

I have too much going on in my head.

I’ve been doing DBT for 9 months and have just 3 months left. I’m freaking out, massively. I’ve learnt a lot and use the skills most of the time but depending on what is going on, they don’t always work. I know DBT is something I’ll need to do forever and once the course finishes I’ll still have those skills to hand but the thought of not seeing my therapist is terrifying.

It feels like I’m only just at the point of truly opening up (some weeks more than others) and getting to issue of my non-existent self-esteem. There is no way that this will be sorted in the next 3 months and after that I’ll be left with no professional support. Plus, there is the issue that I’m kind of attached to her. I know that’s normal but that won’t make not seeing her and having her support any easier to cope with. I have no real support at home, my partner is very hit and miss where support is concerned. She wants me to open up to her more but in the past, when I have done all I get back is comments like ‘well, we all feel like that at times’ and ‘I get depressed at times as well and I don’t do x,y and z’ – very frustrating. I’ve tried to explain to her how someone with BPD thinks but either she doesn’t get it or doesn’t want to.