• Welcome! It’s great to see you.

If you'd like to talk with people who know what it's like

Our forum members are people, maybe like yourself, who experience mental health difficulties or who have had them at some point in their life.

Tough situation...

R

Redsfan_2000

Hey everyone. I am a gay male, I’ve been out for awhile now. I have mostly come to grips with my sexual orientation.

A serious problem has arisen. I am a flight student training to be a pilot. I love flying. However, it is a male dominated industry and pretty much every instructor I get is a male. Despite switching once before, I have fallen for both instructors. My performance suffers, I get nervous in the plane, and I perform poorly. Not only that, but my instructor sees it and I always feel bad after every flight. I know I can be doing better but my instructor being there makes my focus worse.

As I said, I’ve already switched instructors due to this reason and it happened again. I’ve accepted that this is just something I will have to deal with, but what I can’t accept is this stressing me out outside of flight training. I’ve been very depressed over the last couple months or so due to this very reason. The stuff that normally makes me happy doesn’t make me happy anymore due to this hanging over my head and knowing I have to go fly with him every morning.

How do I proceed? I hate to act this way because I feel like people have been in way worse situations than this, but this has probably been the toughest situation I’ve ever been in in my entire life. It just feels like there isn’t any solution and I just have to suffer in silence... life really shouldn’t be this hard.

JessisMe

JessisMe

Hi Redsfan! I don’t really have any suggestions for you but I’m sure other people will be along shortly to help you. I just wanted to slip in here and welcome you to the forums. xo, j

2Much2Feel