• Share. Be Supported. Recover.

We are a friendly, safe community supporting each other's mental health. We are open 24 hours a day, 365 days a year.

Tips to handle your Social Anxiety From Experience.

A

Abrilliantmind

**NOTE** I am not a qualified professional, I am just sharing what I did to handle my social anxiety.

1. First you need to figure out why you may have anxiety and when it might have become.

I witnessed my dad yelling at myself and my mum from a very young age, followed by years of verbal bullying through my years at Secondary school. Even people at college (ages 16 and 17) I was being laughed for whatever reason by some jerk.

So I know my anxiety started from as young as 5 or 6, and I know it's come from much verbal abuse and bullying.

*Tip* CBT Worksheets for anxiety work like this. And you can download plenty of Worksheets of the Internet for free.

2. Write down the negative labels people have put upon you and counter attack them with positive affirmations.

If one particular person consistently called you "A Loser" at school. Then write it down, and next to it. Write down "I am a Winner"
If someone called u "ugly". Then call yourself "Beautiful" . If someone called you "Stupid" then u call yourself "Intelligent".

To be in more depth you can write down. "I am NOT a loser, I am a winner".

This exercise is all about transforming your old beliefs. Because what you believe of yourself, you will project to the real world.

Once you have written enough of these negative labels down along with the positive Affirmations next to it. You don't need to keep writing it. But read it a couple of times a day for a good 3 weeks. I started to feel more confident after just one week to be fair, but you need to be consistent.

3. Positive affirmations through a mediation.