• Welcome! It’s great to see you. Our forum members are people, maybe like yourself, who experience mental health difficulties or who have had them at some point in their life.

If you'd like to talk with people who know what it's like

Tips for long distance relationship with a person with depression?

C

catsgomeow123

I'm currently in a long distance relationship with a person that has depression. We are only able to see each other twice a year, but we are maintaining healthy contact via video calling and texting.

I was wondering if anyone had any tips to offer? I'm very new to long distance relationships, and relationships with someone that has depression.

I look forward to reading your replies!

M

Mister_Fabulous formerly BetaMale

Just remember that you may mean the world to this person, so be gentle.

calypso

calypso

Admin
Reassure them that they are not being boring or silly. That this is an illness and they can get treatment for it. Gently suggest therapy to help them through the depression. But don't push anything too hard, listening is more important than trying to solve it for them.

Do you know what triggered the depression? There is usually something no matter how apparently small it may seem sometimes. I suggest you ask gently and carefully. But it all depends on how long you have known them and how well you know them at the moment.

C

catsgomeow123

Reassure them that they are not being boring or silly. That this is an illness and they can get treatment for it. Gently suggest therapy to help them through the depression. But don't push anything too hard, listening is more important than trying to solve it for them.

Do you know what triggered the depression? There is usually something no matter how apparently small it may seem sometimes. I suggest you ask gently and carefully. But it all depends on how long you have known them and how well you know them at the moment.
Thanks for your reply! Your comments are really helpful!