• Welcome! It’s great to see you.

Our forum members are people, maybe like yourself, who experience mental health difficulties or who have had them at some point in their life.

We are an actively moderated forum. We work hard to keep the forum safe.

To access many more features and forums please register now

The shame of Birmingham City Council Health and Social Care.

M

Mad Hatter

Founding Member
Excuse me if this sounds a bit of a rant but I feel justified if I do. I work as a classroom assistant at a project which teaches people with mental health problems as well as people with other problems bicycle maintenance. It has been running since 1996 and I even attended there myself when it first started. Everyone agrees what a great project it is, the client base love it. It is situated at a council run site. Some years ago they got a sort of 7 seater minibus with a mobile workshop in the back, this has proved invaluable in picking up bikes to work on, parts and sometimes even taking out clients.

Today the vehicle had to be returned because it's not cost effective apparently. A sad day for all concerned as for some clients, going out in the "van" was the highlight of their week. As usual it's all down to penny pinching. To rub it in further I find out that the van is earmarked for a children's home, ahhh bless!! Can someone please tell me that when funding is handed out why is it anything to do with delinquent kids or crackheads is always above mental health in the pecking order?

Libra1

Libra1

Founding Member
Hi mad hatter,

I feel very sad to read what has happened to the mini bus and the people who will miss out because of this:(

Would it not be possible to apply to a charitable organisation or the 'big lottery fund' to retain the vehichle?

M

Mad Hatter

Founding Member