• Share. Be Supported. Recover.

We are a friendly, safe community supporting each other's mental health. We are open 24 hours a day, 365 days a year.

The Cure for Depression

S

SJS

This will be an explanation on how I cured my depression, and the various things i had to understand before doing so. I'm doing this in the hopes that it may help others achieve the same thing.

I preface this by saying i'm not a professional in the field of psychology/psychiatry. Everything i learned was through a desire to cure myself, and out of a genuine passion and curiosity for psychology.

PLEASE READ THE ENTIRE POST BEFORE TRYING ANY OF THE METHODS BELOW, FOR YOUR OWN SAFETY

First and foremost, you must have a basic understanding of how your mind works. What different things are, and what they really mean. So let us get started :

What are Emotions?

Emotions, in this context, act only as indicators on where you are towards what you want. If you're close to what you want, and you believe it is within your grasp? You'll feel happier. If you're far away, or believe it is hopeless? You'll feel sad. Emotions are just indicators, remember that.

What are Desires?

Desires are quite simply what you want. It is the center-point from which all your emotions hang. If you truly wanted nothing? You would feel nothing. Desires form from what it is you believe.

What are Beliefs?

Beliefs are ideas you think are true. Ideas you have invested agreement into. Beliefs are like the eyes.. The map for your basic instinct. They are what tell you what success is, and what failure is. They determine the rules for your mind. An example : Let us say you believe money means you're a success, you will want money, and by extension feel more positive if you make money.

What are your Basic Instincts?