• Welcome! It’s great to see you. Our forum members are people, maybe like yourself, who experience mental health difficulties or who have had them at some point in their life.

If you'd like to talk with people who know what it's like

Temporary or permanent??

V

Vegay

It's always been a popular expression that "these feelings are temporary" or "this part of your life is temporary" and "It will pass."

When would you consider it permanent??

I know that not just counselling, medication etc will help, I understand that self help had to be a factor too.

I've been speaking to my counsellor for approx 9 months. The care coordinator for about 5 months and on medication for about 4 months. I also try various self help techniques.

Yet I'm still here feeling the same. The only change I guess, is that I'm not attempting suicide every now and then. But I'm still anxious, negative, the myself, don't want to be here, overthink about the past, obsessed with certain things etc.

It feels permanent to me.

Zaz

Zaz

I've been on antidepressants constantly for over 16 years now. I've been on courses group therapy one to one counselling under the "care" of a psychiatrist given key workers and much more and I can honestly say I'm more confused now than I've ever been. So it feels pretty permanent to me even though I'm aware everything changes and nothing lasts forever.

G

Girl interupted

It took me almost four years of twice weekly therapy to start to see a change. Mostly because I was stubborn and terrified and didn’t want to work on my traumas. I would edit myself in therapy to make my therapist like me more, and diminish what I had been through. This helped no one.

It was only after, once I felt safe, that I began the hard and painful work of talking about my trauma that I started to see a difference in my mood and stability. First the depression lifted for the first time in decades. It was an odd feeling to recognize that I was no longer depressed.