Suspecting my mother of BPD and PTSD

MeropeneM

MeropeneM

ACCOUNT CLOSED
Hello fellows,

I'm Jester but you can also call me Proxy or Mero. I had a recent discussion with my mother, in her 60s, openly diagnosing her of borderline and explaining how her episodes, motives, ulterior justifications and shifts from idealization to devaluation don't make a lot of sense. I am not a doctor nor a psychiatrist, only a Vigilante!

As you might think, it didn't go very well! Nope, nope, nope. I went after a big fish there and I was aware of that. Here's the info:

On the inside, outside her episodes, she is kind, loving and dedicated to her family with an ego bigger then the Heavens and the Earth reunited. This makes her very hard to approach with matters of mental health. Her reaction was "on the news, I am crazy. Great!"

When I was a child, 7 or 8 y.o. I found her lying on the bedside staring at the closet and pouring her eyes out. She was crying and I mean leaking! I started crying too and asked her why she is crying and she told me "because you don't behave. So I kept on crying with her and told her I was going to behave. I had done nothing wrong that day, I didn't get into trouble at school, nothing...nothing at all it was just another day.

Before that, when I was 3 or 4 y.o. she had a huge fight with her mother in law, and I was an eye witness to it. Through which mental process my mother allowed her 4y.o. child to be an eye witness to that huge argument is unknown to me to this day. Through which mental process she allowed herself to savagely insult, belittle and throw out of the house my grandmother is unknown to me. And it is unknown to me why she engaged in that argument in the first place because my grandmother had done nothing wrong and she already had taken care of me for one day, so she had come over to watch over me and instead of a thank you, a fight arose that permanently ended all relationship between our family and my father's side grandparents.