• Welcome! It’s great to see you. Our forum members are people, maybe like yourself, who experience mental health difficulties or who have had them at some point in their life.

If you'd like to talk with people who know what it's like

Survivors of sexual abuse - how do you deal with it?

katya

katya

I need some more coping strategies. I don't really talk about it (except with my boyfriend, who struggles to handle his own emotions so he's not really the best person to go go - no offense meant to him). I'm waiting on clinical psychology, but that'll take months to get through.

I have a really stressful job (I'm a newly qualified teacher), and some days it feels too much: I either focus on what happened to me, and then think that, if anyone at school knew, they wouldn't want me to be a teacher anyway because they'd consider me a threat to children (which I'm absolutely not); or my self-esteem is so low generally that it affects my confidence and resilience. I'm not sure if the latter is directly or indirectly to do with what happened to me; I think I've just been so worn down by it all for so long that my to-go settings include very low self-esteem.

I don't know whether to talk more openly about it, tell someone at school, keep it to myself or what.

Gajolene

Gajolene

I would keep it between you and your doctors/therapists, I think it would be better to talk here safely untill your counselling kicks in, I found in rl most people are either nasty about it or feel to awkward to talk about it. I've never had a trully understanding OH that I've been able to confide in deeply about these sensitive issues as well. I've lost jobs, family, friends, over my SA abuse history, and the subsequent PTSD I suffer now because of it, it's very painfull to go through. I had people turn of me and attack me to protect the predators as well.