Supporting a friend

D

Dianoes

I've been supporting my friend for the last 3 years or so through his severe depression and anxiety. He's had these problems for over 10 years and i'm the first person he really spoke to about it all. I've been there every step of the way since and he has since become my best friend and has supported me through my own anxiety issues. We live together in a flat with my boyfriend whom he was friends with before me. We all play music together and hang out but myself and my bf are also carers in a way in that we offer emotional support, help organise hospital appointmrnts. I even help with self harm wounds when things are bad that way.

I found out the other day that another musician we work with sometimes doesnt want to work with us anymore because this friend sexually harrassed (possibly sexually assaulted) her friend recently and she understandably doesnt feel comfortable around him.

(Id like to make clear that im in an open dialogue with the victim's friend. I didnt want to make her pain about me or my life which is why i approached this forum)

I'll be honest. I have no idea what to do. A part of me thinks the right thing to do is to cut ties with him because if i remain his friend then its like im publically condoning what he has done. On the other hand, this is a man who has suicidal thoughts every day and is reliant on my love and support. Im convinced this behavious was born from his depressive thoughts and im afraid that cutting him off will do more harm than good. He's finally seeking help and i dont want this to push him over the edge. I care for him and i really think he could make real progress if given the chance. But how do i in good conscience stay friends with this person?

Any advice would be amazing.

claude

claude

ACCOUNT CLOSED
Wow thats a difficult situation.

Has your friend spoken to you about the incident?