• Welcome! It’s great to see you.

If you'd like to talk with people who know what it's like

Our forum members are people, maybe like yourself, who experience mental health difficulties or who have had them at some point in their life.

Struggling with weight

F

flavorjen

For the past week, I’ve been really busy with my weight and body image.
I just need someone to listen and maybe give me a few tips after reading.
I’m new to this all and it’s overwhelming.
I recently started being obsessed with healthy foods and counting every single piece of food that I have into apps that give me how much calories the foods are that I just consumed.
I saw that I gained a few kgs and it started to bug me so that’s where it all began.
I started by going on runs once a week and walks after having dinner with my family (I’m 18 years old)
I’ve always been underweight and when I gained those few kgs, I saw that my BMI came to a normal weight which made me panic and caused me to change my eating habits.
I cut out all snacks, candy and almost all fats.
I buy whole grain pasta, rice and bread instead, I eat way more salads, vegetables and fruits.
Whenever I go to the store, I find myself staring at biscuits and chocolates and imagine myself eating them but I won’t buy them because I won’t allow myself to have them, I just imagine it.
I watch a lot of mukbangs on youtube where people eat unhealthy food because I won’t allow myself to have it, it has become an obsession.
I even find myself day dreaming at random moments such as while being in class, I dream about enjoying a good brownie or another dessert.
I try to eat smaller proportions of the already healthy food that I have because of how scared I am of gaining weight, this leads me to have less energy throughout the day.
I lost weight in one week and a half.