• Welcome! It’s great to see you. Our forum members are people, maybe like yourself, who experience mental health difficulties or who have had them at some point in their life.

If you'd like to talk with people who know what it's like

Stress?

W

worried

Hello everyone,

I am new to this and I hope I have posted in the right forum. I started a new job 5 months ago and I was enjoying it initially, however now I am feeling constantly on the verge of tears, feel all churned up inside, I worry about things that have happened or may happen, I skip meals (lunch at work), I find it difficult to organise myself and make decisions (I make lists and lists but it doesn't seem to make me feel any better), I want to sleep all the time (although when I do sleep I wake up during the early hours of the morning and I worry about work), I have tried writing down my worries but I find they build up and up inside me when eventually I 'explode' and I have to tell someone - my mum. I feel guilty about this because I don't want to worry her. I double and triple check things at work (so I take longer to do things), and stuff I should know the answer to by now I still ask my supervisor. My supervisor has noticed I seem stressed and have asked what support I need at work, however I don't know. I don't want to seem like I'm not coping. I am having my appraisal in a couple of weeks and I am very worried. I used to look forward to things (I have signed up to 2 evening classes) but at the moment my mind is focussed entirely on work. I have had episodes of depression / anxiety in the past and have been on medication. However I stopped it a few months ago when I thought I was enjoying my job. I want to enjoy it but at the moment I can't face thinking about it. Any reassurance / advice would be gratefully received. Thank you. PS I saw a counsellor at work for the first time last week, I have an initial appointment for life coaching tomorrow and I am hoping to book an appointment for reflexology