• Welcome! It’s great to see you. Our forum members are people, maybe like yourself, who experience mental health difficulties or who have had them at some point in their life.

If you'd like to talk with people who know what it's like

Stopping medication

G

Gredge23

I am thinking of stopping my medication and going cold turkey.

I am hopeful but fearful.

Have any of you experiences with stopping ur meds cold turkey? I have 2 friends who done it one ended up in psych ward for 6 weeks and another who has never been better in his life.

R

Rob27

hey Im rob I hope your ok :)

I'm not an expert but I've tried stopping cold turkey and its never gone well. I would recommend speaking to your doctor so you can come off them slowly.

tabbykitten

tabbykitten

Wouldn’t advise cold turkey. Tried it years ago and I made things worse.
Reduce meds slowly as less of a body shock. Plus if you find you still need the meds it is easier that way to go back onto your full dosage

G

Gredge23

Ok I think it's a form of self harm I don't care if I get shock and get worse but that's just the way I'm thinking at the minute thank you for your replys

Per Ardua Ad Astra

Per Ardua Ad Astra

When I was on quetiapne (seroquel), I took the cold turkey approach once.

The result was insomnia - and a spell back in hospital. It was a weekend admission, and my consultant wasn't in until Monday, but had communicated with the ward staff by phone. I was given a choice: take seroquel orally - or have haloperidol delivered IM. IM is an abbreviation in psych speak, for intramuscular. In other words, depot injection. I choose the seroquel :cry:

Kerome

Kerome

I tried the cold turkey approach after 3 years on Risperidone. Various reduction schemes of 0.5 mg per week or per month hadn't worked so I thought I would try something drastic.