• Share. Be Supported. Recover.

We are a friendly, safe community supporting each other's mental health. We are open 24 hours a day, 365 days a year.

Still a beginner here - question about racing thoughts

aleks1009

aleks1009

Hy guys,

do you have (those diagnosed with being Bipolar) racing thoughts and how does that look like? Thanks

calypso

calypso

Admin
Hiya and Welcome to the forum. I am diagnosed bipolar and racing thoughts are usually with me not able to finish a sentence because my mind is on the next one, thoughts flitting from subject to subject so I am unable to communicate properly, a heightened anxiety often follows as I panic that I can't get across what I mean. Often associated with fast movements and some what ecstatic feelings. But it doesn't last and I end up in a depression fairly soon afterwards. Haven't had it for years now as meds work for me.

What about you?

aleks1009

aleks1009

Hiya and Welcome to the forum. I am diagnosed bipolar and racing thoughts are usually with me not able to finish a sentence because my mind is on the next one, thoughts flitting from subject to subject so I am unable to communicate properly, a heightened anxiety often follows as I panic that I can't get across what I mean. Often associated with fast movements and some what ecstatic feelings. But it doesn't last and I end up in a depression fairly soon afterwards. Haven't had it for years now as meds work for me.

What about you?

Thank you :) I have similar experiences, not in a sense of not being able to finish a sentence but when my thoughts are racing like yours I can't force myself to get some work done. Another problem in my experience is connected with being stuck with thoughts. You know, like just becoming obsessed with them or one of them and trying to explain them to me. Ever had that experience?

calypso

calypso

Admin