stigma

R

rusty_nail

Hi folks, this is my first post, hello everyone,
Anyway, one thing I have learnt since suffering from mental illness for over ten years, first diagnosis with bipolar and later changed to schizoaffective is the stigma attached.
People don't want to know you, when you have a mental illness.
A long standing suffering of mental illness and five psych admissions means trying to gain employment is virtually impossible, how do I explain what ive been doing for the past ten years, other than losing the plot at times.
Friends soon move on, someone who is troubled is not good company for them.
And trying to make friends, where do you start, often people see you as vulnerable and if you are not careful, some people may take advantage.
Sorry for the self pity, glad to hear stories of others struggling with stigma.
Bye.

calypso

calypso

Admin
Hiya and welcome to the forum. Stigma is awful and a constant threat to all of us. I have not come across it too much (I am diagnosed bipolar) but have had people wanting to have bipolar and saying things like"I'm a little bit bipolar" as though its a badge to carry around!

To get insurance of any kind is terrible if you have bipolar, you just can't get any so I don't tell people now. I don't know the answer to telling employers where you have been, its a real conundrum. Can't you say that you have just been unemployed? I would not tell them the diagnosis that's for sure. If you think you are balanced enough now, then go for work as any normal person would I think. ( I am not saying you aren't normal, you know what I mean I hope).

R

ramboghettouk

Founding Member
in the days when i looked for work i didn't mention schitzoprenia but my unemployment history was against me at one point got an interview by claiming i'd worked for firms that had gone bust in brum, they realised i was lying at the interview