• Share. Be Supported. Recover.

We are a friendly, safe community supporting each other's mental health. We are open 24 hours a day, 365 days a year.

Social anxiety, deep depression

S

Sev94

Hi, just joined today.
I'm a 20 year old female and I've had severe social anxiety for as long as I can remember. It's so bad it's gotten to the point where I can't even answer my phone because I don't want to talk to anyone. I don't like going to family gatherings I don't like being around people at all. I've never been able to get a job. I left school after year 11 and that was 4 years ago, I've been struggling to find a job ever since but no one will give me the time of day and I know it's because they can see I have low confidence and low self esteem and they don't want that around their customers. I know getting a job would be good for me and give me routine in my life because all I've been doing for the past 4 years is sleeping 15 hours a day sometimes more.
My family don't understand at all, so I don't even bother trying to tell them how I feel.
It's my 21st birthday in less than a month and it hurts me that I won't even be having a party or celebrating it. I can't have a party because I have no friends and hardly any family. I've never had a boyfriend because well let's face it what guy wants a depressed sad girl.
I have no motivation to do anything anymore. Sometimes I think suicide is the best option for me I have nothing to look forward to when I wake up so what's the point? It's just the same bullshit everyday. I'm over it.

H

Helena1

Staff Member on Leave
Have you seen a GP? Have you thought about therapy or medication?
I tried therapy but it wasn't for me but i found a certain medication really helpful for my social anxiety and am just starting to get a bit better slowly.

S

Sev94

I have seen my GP and a therapist and both told me try medication. It seems like that may be my only option at the moment

SomersetScorpio

SomersetScorpio