• Welcome! It’s great to see you.

If you'd like to talk with people who know what it's like

Our forum members are people, maybe like yourself, who experience mental health difficulties or who have had them at some point in their life.

Social anxiety at work

UpnDwn1978

UpnDwn1978

Forum Guide
I work at several nursing homes ordering and delivering food. Usually this requires little interaction with other people, but due to Covid I have been assigned a new task to make breakfast for the patients at one of the nursing homes. This happens in an open kitchen where all the nurses and patients gather and I have to take the orders as they come often from several impatient nurses and patients at once. This has really triggered my social anxiety and I don't know how to cope. It feels like I'm going to get paralyzed everytime someone makes an order and that everyone is watching and judging me. I used to work as a chef so preparing food doesn't bother me, but doing it in front of other people is incredibly stressful to the point of being painful. When I got assigned this task I was happy because I love working with food, but i didn't know I had to do it in front of an audience and now I dread going to work. I'm at work now, having a break in my office after just having finished making breakfast and now I'm scared to leave my office. Tomorrow I have to do it all again, and even if I have been doing this for a couple of weeks now it doesn't seem to get better. Having social anxiety sucks :(

OCDguy

OCDguy

Having to take orders and being watched must put you under a lot of pressure too, aswell as being very stressful. I wonder if speaking with someone will come up with a way to ease some of that pressure etc... I also wonder if there are a lot of people in a confined space, is social distancing being observed...

UpnDwn1978

UpnDwn1978

Forum Guide