• Welcome! It’s great to see you.

If you'd like to talk with people who know what it's like

Our forum members are people, maybe like yourself, who experience mental health difficulties or who have had them at some point in their life.

So I think maybe I have a Personality Disorder.

A

Amplifier

Pretty much.

I've always avoided trying to diagnose myself with any sort of actual disorder, maybe I thought it was like trying to excuse my shortcomings or something, but lately I'm not sure what to think.

I'm not an expert on personality disorders, but I've done a bit of reading around and sort of wondered if the following may apply to me:

Paranoid personality disorder, Borderline personality disorder, Avoidant personality disorder, Delusional disorder or (and this one is more of a stretch, maybe) Schizophrenia.

So I guess I should list some symptoms or something. Since approximately November 2008 I've been experiencing increased sensitivity to insults or what I perceive as such, paranoia over social situations and the opinions of people around me, a lack of motivation, lack of enjoyment from activities which I once found pleasurable, low self-esteem, body image issues which recently hit their low point with gender identity concerns, feelings of inferiority, mistrust of people, self-imposed isolation, feelings of victimization, mild auditory hallucinations in the form of a loud ringing in my ears which has only recently manifested (this may be unrelated, but I'll throw it in to be sure) a tenuous grasp on reality or what is necessary to function in the real world and subsequent escapism via fantasy and substance abuse.

I feel I may have written this as a way of trying to decide myself wether or not I really have a disorder, but I'm still unsure. Obviously, the best course of action is to consult with a professional, which I am in the process of organising after a meeting with my doctor, but I'd like some confirmation on my anxieties beforehand.