Should I settle for a therapist?

S

Scarboroughnative

I have been battling with mental health issues since I was 12 yrs old I’m now in my early thirties. I had a bad experience with doctors and medication when I was a teenager so once I stopped all that “treatment” it was was difficult to get help again because it was so inaffective for me before but Over a year ago I went to my GP and told him that I was having Mental health issues and that I needed to get diagnosed properly (didn’t want him diagnosing me and throwing me on meds) so he told me he would reffer me to the proper place. About two months later I get a call for a referral for cognitive behavioural therapy. Which the government only covered 12 sessions over 6 months don’t get be wrong I benefitted from it a little it did help change the way I view certain things and also dealing with anxiety but I believe my problem is much greater then just anxiety and depression. So once CBT was over and I wasnt satisfied with the outcome, still feeling as though there is a bigger problem I was referred to a new place. I went and did an assessment in February. Now I Have this thing about talking to men my whole life, I just can’t do it, which some might think is weird cause Im a man but I made that very clear to them because talking to women always seemed more natural and comforting to me. Well, Last week (4 months later) i get a call that a therapist is available but it’s a man and when I googled him I found out he had gotten in big trouble for ethics violations for lewd sexual behaviour on the internet. I am in desperate need of help and the current system is all about waiting lists. Do I try to suck it up and deal with man so I can try and get diagnosed and find out what has been wrong with me all these years or do I risk waiting another 4, 6, 8 months and possibly beyond for a woman therapist. I’m filled with so much anxiety and apprehension about this. I don’t know what to do, and I would love to hear some input.