• Welcome! It’s great to see you.

If you'd like to talk with people who know what it's like

Our forum members are people, maybe like yourself, who experience mental health difficulties or who have had them at some point in their life.

Serioously struggling to cope

C

cherryredm

This is my first time on here but am really stuck with who to tell about what is happening for me.
I am a single mum to 2 young boys aged 2 and 4, I left my husband last year after a 7 year emotionally abusive relationship in which I felt worthless and useless, I self-harmed continually and felt so alone and scared.
After leaving I was diagnosed as having bi-polar disorder. My ex partner used this against me and told his lawyer I am unsafe with my kids and he he went to my GP and said the same thing- that he thought I would harm them- I was devestated, and my ex didn't see why this was so upsetting. My head was all over the place, I was hallucinating and self-harming constantly, I really wanted to take an overdose but a friend helped me through it.
I feel so stressed out right now and find everything a struggle, looking after the boys and having no money is so hard and I finish most days by crying alone. Although I am on medication I have started self-harming again and keep thinking about taking pills as I want a rest so badly I can't see any other way out and i can't tell anyone how I actually feel.
Are there any other mothers who feel like this and how do they cope with their kids when these things are going on in their heads? I want to give up.

A

angel10

I just wanted to say I really feel for you. I too am a mum and I'm finding it very difficult at the moment to cope with everything going on. Can you make an appointment with a gp or similar. Have you got any meantal health groups in your area you can contact?

C

cherryredm