• Welcome! It’s great to see you. Our forum members are people, maybe like yourself, who experience mental health difficulties or who have had them at some point in their life.

If you'd like to talk with people who know what it's like

Self-validation and our current situation...

W

Wan Shi Tong

Being a BPD patient means experimenting a lot of feelings regarding myself, particularly about self-esteem and self-worth. I'm a lawyer, and the COVID 19 pandemic hasn't affected me as much as many others in my country (I'm from Mexico). My work allows me to do a lot of things from home, and that's what I've been doing. And that's precisely the problem. I never wanted to be a lawyer. And even though I learned to enjoy what I do, right now I feel like the most useless person in the world. Most of my cousins and my sister work in healthcare (physicians, nurses and dentists), and they are out there putting their lives at risk to keep us safe. And I am here, doing some boring crap about Local Attorneys General Offices (and, trust me, it is even more boring than it sounds). For some reason that's making me really anxious. Not only because of my family, but also because I need to feel that I am doing something for others.
I wasn't allowed to choose my career path, it was more of a circumstancial matter. And I don't have what it takes to become a physician (I have a huge phobia to needles that almost incapacitates me when I see one). I knew, from the moment I was meant to choose something to make a living, that I couldn't be a medical professional. But I'm also aware that I don't want to be lawyer. I like what I do, but it's not transcendental, it's not of any value. In the grand order of things, I'm just contributing to some really little effort to change things, and this tiny effort is not going to make any kind of impact at all. I'm not doing what I convinced myself I would be doing by this time in my life with my career, and that's making me feel like a failure.