• Welcome! It’s great to see you.

If you'd like to talk with people who know what it's like

Our forum members are people, maybe like yourself, who experience mental health difficulties or who have had them at some point in their life.

Self confidence has destroyed dating life?

Y

Ydoc2012

I’m 21 years old and have never had a serious relationship. I’m not very good at talking to girls. This is most likely do to my low self esteem. Every time I start talking to someone I’m constantly second guessing myself. I have a very negative perception of myself. I honestly have trouble when asked to describe myself in a positive way. Once I say a positive I end up challenging it with a negative. The dating thing has more recently started bothering me because most of my friends were in my same situation throughout high school. But the past few years have seen all of them get romantically involved. Any advice on getting more self confidence? That would probably help in almost every aspect of my life not just dating.

H

Headingtothelight

I get how you feel 110%.
u need to just accept you for you and be yourself always, embrace your flaws and quirks, it’s what makes someone fall in love with u...u can’t really love someone else unless u love yourself i’ve learned that the hard way and i can’t even answer phone calls from my bf coz keep feeling like i dont know what to say and how to act always scared to let him know the real me coz i don’t even know who the real me is anymore...

S

sam1232

i know how you feel. My younger cousin felt the same when his girlfriend betrayed her

Similar threads
Thread starter Title Forum Replies Date
S Self Help Depression Forum 2
S Anger and self hatred Depression Forum 11
apple2003 idk what to label this as but tw for suicide and self harm Depression Forum 5
H Self social isolation. Depression Forum 18
Tawny Types of self care Depression Forum 24
kimmykat Self discipline tips? Depression Forum 9