• Welcome! It’s great to see you. Our forum members are people, maybe like yourself, who experience mental health difficulties or who have had them at some point in their life.

If you'd like to talk with people who know what it's like

searching

jdoe123

jdoe123

Hi ....I wanted to share the reason why I joined this forum. My husband has just been diagnosed with Bi Polar1 and also symptoms of Schitzophrenia which amounts to Schitzoaffective disorder. hhhhmm so there I finally said it...we have battling this(the symptoms) for years(20). He has been prescribed Geodone in the hospital and will not be released until tomorrow. I am a Psychology student and have been through the black shadows of debilitating depression. I am better and thankful that I am so I can help him. I sometimes don't think I can reach him..emotionally but that is normal I suppose. I am very worried about side effects of anti-psychotics like Geodone. I feel very very very alone in my struggle..even with him because he seems distant alot even before the meds. It helps me to know other people's stories who are non judgemental and accepting.

Thank You,

jdoe123

Last edited:
S

saffron

welcome Jdoe,

must be hard feeling so helpless, he is very lucky to have you there for him. is it a relief to know what you are dealing with now? or do you feel like you should be able to help him more. you are a psych student but he is not your client, be there for him at least he is around people who understand, dont forget you though, you have also gone through a lot and need comfort too, that way you can remain strong to be there for him.

my thoughts go out to you.
best wishes
S

jdoe123

jdoe123

yes, I feel I should help him more ...like I should fix it...although I know I can't. Helpless and under pressure as well to help him...but I can't...I have done all I can do. He has to take the meds....everyone has told him this...

S

saffron