• Share. Be Supported. Recover.

We are a friendly, safe community supporting each other's mental health. We are open 24 hours a day, 365 days a year.

Scared

B

Bell456

Hi. This is my first time posting on any sort of site like this. Not really sure what I expect from it but here goes... I started self harming around 3 years ago (which has remained unknown to everyone) Not sure why as my life was pretty much perfect but anyway that's not the point of this thread. Last September my mum was diagnosed with cancer and since then I have been determined to stop harming as I have come to realise how important our bodies are and how we should care for them. Tonight is hard. I don't know why but tonight the urges are sudden and persistent. I'm sorry for burdening you with this information, I really don't know why I am writing this anyway, it's not like anyone can wave a magic wand and fix everything :p guess I was just wondering if anyone has any practical advice. Anything I can do to stop the urges. Though truthfully as you've probably guessed the urges are the least of my worries at the moment. Just what do I do? How to I stop myself falling apart? I can feel myself slipping away day after day and I don't know how to stop it.

B

Bell456

I don't mean to sound ungrateful but phrases like "stay strong" and "things will get better" are really useless to me. Just hoping someone has some practical advice. Thank you :)

SomersetScorpio

SomersetScorpio

Bell, i'm so sorry you've not had any replies yet. :hug1:

First of all, welcome to the forum.
I'm sorry to hear about your Mum's illness. It must be a very difficult time for you and your family.

I think that sometimes, we are only human and most people do something that's damaging to themselves in order to cope. And whilst it's not ideal, I do just want to say please don't be too hard on yourself if you find yourself giving into any urges.

Have you found anything helpful to you so far?