ROCD out of nowhere

J

john888

Hi, this is my first time posting at this forum. So, I have a girlfriend for some time now and I love her so much, you know how it goes. But recently, out of nowhere, thoughts started coming to my mind. I'm constantly asking myself do i love her, do i feel happy with her as I did some time ago, do she still turns me on, and all sorts of questions like that. When I start thinking about that, I have to reassure myself that they are not true. It's been two weeks like this. I know that is very little time. First few days I thought that it was just a period of lesser love, something everyone in relationship goes through. But few days later i stumbled upon ROCD online, and my mind is not giving me peace ever since. I match some descriptions of it. I don't even know why im sad anymore, partly because of these thoughts and partly becase i might hive a mental ilness, something that really freaks me out. I've always been an overtinker and a perfectionist, but that never bothered me nearly as much as this. I started meditating and practicing mindfullnes, of which I heard recently and decided to give it a try. I just want to know what else can i do because I'm scared it will get worse with time. I really love my girlfriend and I want to spend my entire life with her and I really don't want these obsessions to get in the way of that. I want to know what can i do to help myself and what not to do that will only worsen it. I know it doesen't sound nearly as serious as some other posts and thanks for reading and help in advance!

Mayflower7

Mayflower7

Hi,
Welcome to the forum :welcome:
I'm sorry your having intrusive thoughts, please see your dr or a therapist.
Your problems are as valid as anyone's, please continue to gain support from the forum.
Here to listen anytime.
Take care

J

john888