• Share. Be Supported. Recover.

We are a friendly, safe community supporting each other's mental health. We are open 24 hours a day, 365 days a year.

Retirement Depression

• Thread starter Alexander Ypsilantis
  • Start date
A

Alexander Ypsilantis

I've been working or going to school-and often both-since I was 14 years old. I'm going to be 67 next week and I'm going to retire soon. I really have to, my eyes are not so good anymore and reading the laptop is getting more challenging. And I don't have the energy to keep up the pace anymore, it's physically becoming detrimental to my health.

But I have to confess, the idea of walking away from the workplace is scary for me. The virtual associations (online meetings, talking to folks, etc.) I have through work are my only real opportunity to interact with people anymore, outside of seeing my wife every other day (we're married but live separately). And retirement seems like closing a door on a major and long-lasting part of your life. As I noted, I've been working or studying and often both for 53 years. How do you downshift from that?

Those of you who are no longer working because of retirement or other reasons-how do you deal with the feeling of isolation and loneliness? I can see the first few weeks or a couple of months catching up on sleep and doing projects around the home-but then what? What happens when you face that one morning when you're laying in bed and you realize it really doesn't matter if you get up or pass away laying there? How do you deal with the depression of retirement?

Siegfried

Siegfried

I cannot in any way relate to your experience or issue so take anything I may say with a significant grain of salt.

That being said, what exactly prevents you from filling your life with something else? it seems the money side is covered, so now don't you have the freedom to pursue anything you want?