• Share. Be Supported. Recover.

We are a friendly, safe community supporting each other's mental health. We are open 24 hours a day, 365 days a year.

Retirement Anxiety

• Thread starter Alexander Ypsilantis
  • Start date
A

Alexander Ypsilantis

Former member
I'm getting ready to retire after 46 years as a Researcher in a high tech industry and I have periods of great anxiety. I've been working or going to college-or both-for 50 years. Down shifting to retirement is kind of scary, at the same time it appeals.

I'm in USA and work for a private firm. Our Pension plan was frozen several years back when the company went through bankruptcy, but I still get about 75% of a full pension. Ok, fine. I want to take a lump sum rather than a monthly pension, so the company administering our Pensions sent me an estimation based on several termination dates. I had to guide the person I spoke with through the process of estimating my lump sum, because they didn't have complete knowledge of our plan. Really irritating they were that lacking in knowledge, but we got there-and they sent me an estimation of the full amount I'm entitled to. Fine and good.

So, I give them a call two weeks ago and tell them which last working day I want to go with and receive my Lump sum distribution. They told me with that date they would have to provide a new estimation due to 'policy', but that it would be almost identical to what they already provided me. Ok, fine. I waited two weeks (way too long!) to get the new estimation and it was incorrect-they didn't add in an additional $ 75,000.00 I am entitled to based on a new corporate policy-they had correctly added that amount in their prior estimations. Now I have to call in on Monday morning and figure out what they messed-up, and naturally I am anxious.