• Welcome! It’s great to see you. Our forum members are people, maybe like yourself, who experience mental health difficulties or who have had them at some point in their life.

If you'd like to talk with people who know what it's like

Public speaking anxiety linked with childhood trauma?

M

Mais

Hi everyone! I'll try to make it short

I grew up in France and was bullied there back in primary school. As a result I kinda closed myself off from people and became very 'cold' even though it's not my real personality. I started learning other languages (including English) to find my true self back and find that sense of belonging I didn't really feel while growing up. I then got the opportunity to go to an international high school in France and met very open-minded people from all around the world and my mind started associating English with tolerance and 'freedom'. Learning languages was like a rebirth for me because it allowed me to 'start again from scratch'. I regained the self-confidence that had been destroyed by years of bullying... but this is only when I speak a language that is NOT French.
Even though French is my native tongue, I realize there are things I want to say but cannot due to the childhood trauma. Before opening my mouth in France, I anticipate all the criticism and the negative looks of people and start panicking.
I am much more confident and feel free to express my views in English even though I am not a native speaker.

How can I get over this?

I am 18 now and in a little less than a year, I will have crucial oral exams (in French) as part of the entry requirements for business schools. I didn't really think of this as a problem since I had somehow learnt to live with the trauma... But now the trauma is getting between me and my dreams.

Tawny

Tawny

Forum Guide