• Welcome! It’s great to see you. Our forum members are people, maybe like yourself, who experience mental health difficulties or who have had them at some point in their life.

If you'd like to talk with people who know what it's like

Psychodrama

S

Sall1

Founding Member
Hi Everyone,

I was just wondering if any of you had any experience of receiving 'psychodrama' as a thateutic intervention. My psychologist said that she might do this with me.

If anyone can tell me more about it and what it was like, that would be great. I have looked on the net but still none the wiser really.

Thank you.

Sall

Eleison

Eleison

I studied it a bit on a course I've done. It did seem quite complicated, and seemed to be a group thing. But if your therapist is doing it in one-one sessions with you, I'm not so sure what she has in mind. Maybe it's more like exercises like in Gestalt therapy - 2 chair exercise type.

honeyquince

honeyquince

Founding Member
Hi there,

Don't know much about it but there is a British Psychodrama Association (http://www.psychodrama.org.uk/).

Here is what they say about it...

"Conceived and developed by Jacob L. Moreno, MD, psychodrama employs guided dramatic action to examine problems or issues raised by an individual. Using experiential methods, sociometry, role theory, and group dynamics, psychodrama facilitates insight, personal growth, and integration on cognitive, affective, and behavioral levels. It clarifies issues, increases physical and emotional well being, enhances learning and develops new skills.

What are psychodrama, sociodrama and Action Methods?

The word 'Psychodrama' is often used as a generic term when talking about the range of action methods that J L Moreno developed.