• Welcome! It’s great to see you. Our forum members are people, maybe like yourself, who experience mental health difficulties or who have had them at some point in their life.

If you'd like to talk with people who know what it's like

Prozac

H

hirwin

Hello. I just started Prozac last week, 20 mg. once a day and today will be the 7th day I've been on it. I have actually felt worse since starting it. I have been taking 3-4 xanax a day on top of the prozac, where I was only taking 2. I had to get up and leave a meeting today at school in front of the staff because I was having a full blown panic attack! I also have not been wanting to eat and have felt naseous in general! Is this normal? I don't remember this the first time, many years ago, that I took Prozac, but I wasn't working then and was at home w/ my children so maybe I'm noticing it more being out in public. I am a kindergarten teacher and it has been very hard dealing w/ my problems and being a productive teacher. We only have 4 wks. left so I'm trying to see the light at the end of the tunnel! Thanks for any advice or thoughts!! :confused:

S

schizolanza

ACCOUNT CLOSED
I'm lucky I suppose because I get my panic attacks at night when I'm trying to get to sleep.I'm not on anything for anxiety but I wish i was.

S

*Sapphire*

Hi

I'm sorry to hear you are feeling so unwell from your anti-depressant.
The only thing I can say is that often when i have been on anti-depressants I have been told by my doctor that sometimes you can feel worse before you start to feel better, which is absurd I know! But in my experience it has usually been true!

However I looked the side-effects up on Prozac (because I have been on it myself) and anxiety/agitation and decreased appetite/nausea can be possible side-effects, I found this site to be helpful for looking at the possible side-effects
http://www.netdoctor.co.uk/medicines/100002193.html